Five Rivers Council Inc., BSAAbout UsContact Us - Staff & Key Volunteers

Do you want to share your units stories and pictures from events that you participate in or plan?  We love to tell stories, so please send us an email at and we'll try to share it on the Council Facebook page.
Arnot Mall Service Center & Scout Shop

Web Page:            Click HERE

Mailing Address:  Five Rivers Council
                          3300 Chambers Road Suite 5190
                          Horseheads, NY 14845-5190

E-Mail:                 Click HERE

Phone:                (607) 796-0699 or 1-800-724-6099

Fax:                    (607) 796-5101
Five Rivers Council Business Office

Mailing Address:  Five Rivers Council
                          244 West Water Street
                          Elmira, NY 14901

E-Mail:                Click HERE
Facebook:           Click HERE

Phone:                (607) 732-9047

Fax:                    (607) 732-9055

Professional Staff


District Executive, Williamson Road District



Elizabeth Benedict
District Executive, Thunderbird District

Email: Elizabeth

Dale White (Eagle)
District Director, Andaste District

Father of two Eagle Scouts and one Life Scout and has 2 brothers who are also Eagle Scouts

Email Dale White

Karl Ziegenfus (Eagle)
District Director, Indian Waters District

Email Karl Ziegenfus


Gary Decker (Eagle)
Scout Executive

Father of an Eagle Scout

Email Gary


Administrative Staff

Karen Stark (K1)
Manager, Arnot Mall Scout Shop


Email Karen Stark

Karen Neiley (K2)
Council Registrar:
member registration, 
advancement, training, Eagles

Email Karen Neiley

Mary Jane Russell
Finance Specialist


Email Mary Jane


Shirley Blakeman
Business Manager

Email Shirley Blakeman

Camp Rangers

Jim Thomas 
Ranger, Camp Gorton

Father of an Eagle Scout

Email Jim Thomas

Joe Roupp
Ranger, Camp Brulé

Father of an Eagle Scout

Email Joe Roupp

Key Volunteer Leadership

Dr. Thomas Keith Meier
(Distinguished Eagle Scout)

Council President and proud  father of two Eagle Scouts.

Retired President of Elmira College

Terry Lewis

(Father of an Eagle Scout)  

Council Commissioner

Key Volunteer Leadership

  • Council President: Dr. Thomas Meier M(607) 734-4080
  • Council Commissioner: Terry Lewis M(607) 661-2774
  • Council Vice President of Asset Management: Vacant
  • Council Vice President of Camping: George Bacalles M(607) 426-5365
  • Council Vice President of Training: Rev. Dr. David Sullivan M(607) 331-7890
  • Council Vice President of Advancement: Gary Neiley H(570) 746-1865
  • Council Vice President of Membership: Marc McGrain H(607) 857-9646
  • Council Vice President of Marketing: Brett Powell M(607) 425-8998
  • Council High Adventure Chairman: John Johnson M(607) 738-4620
  • Council Risk Management Chairman: Chris Velez M(585) 596-9544
  • Council Vice President of Strategic Planning: Jesse Cates
  • Council Nominating Committee Chairman: James Bacalles M(607) 738-5074
  • Council National Camp Accreditation Program Chairman: Robert Aho M(607) 346-3045
  • Council Religious Relations Committee Chairman: Ira Hale M(607) 731-2708
  • Order of the Arrow Youth Lodge Chief: Gaven DeWert H(814) 367-2121
  • Order of the Arrow Adult Lodge Advisor: Peter Reif H(607) 962-5932


Website sponsor 


Fiver Rivers Council is supported by